Things to do

We are located in a stunning part of Cornwall, off the beaten track, but not too far from the places you want to visit. You can walk to our nearest beach, Gwithian Towans, and many others are within a short drive. The Coast path almost crosses the doorstep, and there are two nature reserves just down the road, famous for the birds which visit.

Cornwall has many famous and not-so-famous attractions; here are some of our favourite places to visit and explore…

Coast Path walking from the Old Farmhouse Gwithian

Nature

Numerous National Trust beaches www.nationaltrust.org.uk/godrevy – Remember to bring your National Trust Membership card if you have one

Marine Discovery boat trips www.marinediscovery.co.uk

Orca Sea Safari
www.falriver.co.uk/things-to-do/orca-sea-safaris

*Gwithian Beach

*Gwithian Green Nature Reserve  www.ggpc.org.uk/gwithian-green/

*Upton Towans Nature Reserve
www.cornwallwildlifetrust.org.uk/nature-reserves/upton-towans

St.Ives - The Old Farmhouse Gwithian

Places to visit

too numerous to mention all but some of our favourites are:

St Ives – travelling there by train to get an amazing view of the coast www.greatscenicrailways.co.uk/lines/st-ives-bay-line/

The Roseland – travelling by The King Harry Ferry
www.falriver.co.uk/getting-about/ferries/king-harry-ferry

Truro – Cornwall’s cathedral city, with a thriving artisan quarter and shops www.visittruro.org.uk/

The Isles of Scilly day trips by boat
www.visitislesofscilly.com/experience/things-to-do/day-trips

The Lizard www.visitcornwall.com/lizard-peninsula

Newquay Zoo www.newquayzoo.org.uk

National Seal Sanctuary www.sealsanctuary.co.uk/corn1.html

The famous open-air Minack Theatre www.minack.com

St Michael’s Mount  www.stmichaelsmount.co.uk

Paradise Park wildlife sanctuary and soft-play barn www.paradisepark.org.uk

Dairyland all-weather farm-themed attraction www.dairylandfarmworld.com

Geevor Tin Mine Museum, with underground tours and above-ground activities – www.geevor.com

Eden Project visit the famous biomes  www.edenproject.com

Trebah a sub-tropical Cornish garden  www.trebahgarden.co.uk

Surfer - The Old Farmhouse Gwithian

Things to do

*Surfing – Gwithian Academy of Surf www.surfacademy.co.uk,

*Sunset Surf www.sunset-surf.com

Wild foraging – The Fat Hen www.fathen.org

Kayaking, Coasteering & Stand-up-Paddleboarding Lizard Adventure www.lizardadventure.co.uk

Bird watching www.cbwps.org.uk/cbwpsword

Walking the coast path www.southwestcoastpath.org.uk

Cycling routes locally (Great Flat Load trail, Coast to Coast route) www.visitcornwall.com/about-cornwall/cycle-trails

Cornwall Riding Academy (equestrian) www.cornwallridingacademy.co.uk

Carn Brea Leisure Centre (Redruth) www.carnbrealeisurecentre.co.uk

Bombadingas laser tag and toddler soft play  www.bombadingas.co.uk

Locked In Escape Room (Camborne) www.lockedincornwall.com

Eating Out Cornwall- The Old Farmhouse Gwithian

Pubs and Restaurants 

*The Red River Inn www.red-river-inn.co.uk

*The Rock Pool Bar (Gwithian) Famous for Fish and Chips  www.therockpoolbar.co.uk

*Godrevy Beach Café (Gwithian) www.nationaltrust.org.uk/godrevy/features/godrevy-beach-cafe

*Jam Pot Café (Gwthian Towans) www.facebook.com/thejampotcafe

Trevaskis Farm Restaurant, farm shop, Pick-your-own and farm (Connor Downs) www.trevaskisfarm.co.uk

Salt Bar (Hayle) www.salt-hayle.co.uk

Fat Apples Cafe (St Kevern, near Helston)   www.facebook.com/Fat-Apples-Cafe

The Pandora Inn (Mylor Bridge, near Falmouth)  www.pandorainn.com

*means this is within walking distance.

Cornish Cream Tea - The Old Farmhouse Gwithian